Focus on the 3 pillars of Customs: Origin, Value and Classification.

The purpose of this article is to give you the tools to ensure compliance and start optimizing your international flows, by popularizing as much as possible the sometimes technical and complex customs vocabulary.
For an entrepreneur or manager managing international trade flows, the challenge of customs management is to avoid delays, blockages and financial risks on the one hand, and to minimise the customs duties payable on the other.
We don't need to be experts in the business to understand the most important concepts and thus improve our control of our international transactions.
For a customs practitioner, a flow is 3 main pillars: Origin, Value and Classification.
If you pay attention to these three notions about your Import and Export flows, then you will have taken a step that many have not (yet) taken.

The Origin

Why are you interested in it?

The Origin makes it possible to know where the goods come from economically and thus to know some of the rules applicable to their international transport.
Knowing the country of origin of your product will mainly allow you in a concrete way:

  • identify certain obligations to which you are subject (e.g. anti-dumping duty according to the origin - and classification discussed below - of your raw materials),
  • to identify the sanctions linked to the origin of your raw materials (e.g. the Crimea is under EU embargo, your product will therefore be blocked in customs with potential penal risk),
  • identify the possible preferential nature of your origin and thus reduce or even eliminate your customs duties (e.g. Ukraine and the EU have a free trade agreement in force).

In concrete terms, the main risks you run if you do not control the origin of your products are the following:

  • ex-post adjustments and penalties by the customs authorities,
  • any customs offence which may result in the confiscation of the goods and a lump-sum fine,
  • multiplication of controls,
  • blocking your products in customs.

How do we identify him?

The question that comes after you realize you have to look at it is "how do you do it?".
It's getting a little more complicated but not insurmountable.

The first thing to know is not to confuse provenance and origin. Customs origin is the economic nationality of your product, provenance is the geographical origin of your product on a given flow.

The second important thing to know is that it is important to distinguish between preferential and non-preferential origin :

  • Preferential origin provides a tariff advantage.
  • Non-preferential (or "common law") origin makes it possible to determine the common tariff regime as well as all other regulations applicable to the product in relation to its origin (e.g. anti-dumping duties).

A product always has a non-preferential origin for all customs regulations and may in parallel, if there is a free trade agreement or a unilateral preference between the country of origin and the country of destination, have a preferential origin which will allow it to benefit from a reduction in customs duty.

Finally, the third thing to know is the distinction between:

  • products "wholly obtained",
  • products that have undergone "last substantial transformation".

It is thanks to these two notions that you will be able to correctly identify your origin. Explanation:
Wholly obtained" products are products in their natural state or which do not undergo any processing in another country.

A good example would be a banana harvested in Country A and shipped directly to Country B to be sold in supermarkets by the unit.
The banana in its natural state is the product: the origin is therefore Country A. The same would apply if the banana had been produced, then sliced into strips, dried and finally packaged in Country A: the dried banana (finished product) would originate in Country A.

Where more than one country is involved in the manufacturing process, it is the notion of "last substantial transformation" that determines the origin and for this reason a more detailed explanation is necessary.

There are several ways to determine substantial transformation:

  • the change in tariff classification of your product,
  • the value of the processing exceeds 50% of the value of the finished product.

The Value

This is a key financial issue. Indeed, most customs duties and import VAT represent a percentage of the customs value of the goods declared.

Why are you interested in it?

The customs value is the amount that you will report to the customs authorities in connection with your imports and exports. There are 3 main reasons to be interested in it:

  1. Incorrect customs value may expose you to subsequent adjustments and penalties by the customs authorities, and may constitute a customs offence leading to confiscation of the goods and a lump-sum fine.
  2. Wrong customs value impacts on the confidence that customs authorities
    have in your company and can lead to an increase in the number of controls over your
    operations (delays...).
  3. A value for duty can be optimized by removing elements that can
    reduce the amount and thus the customs duties paid.

A distinction must be made between the customs value on import and that on export. Both are important for customs authorities and both need to be addressed.

How to declare a reliable value?

Generally, the value for duty is based on the transaction value of the good, i.e. the price charged by a supplier to its importing customer. This is generally what happens when there is an international sale.

In the case where there is no sale (e.g. transfer of stock or where the sale did not take place on export), you can rely on other calculation methods to justify the value for duty. The general idea is that the declared value must include all costs related to the production, transportation, and insurance of the goods to the border.

The value for duty of your goods may be adjusted because your transaction value may contain items that you can legally deduct. To do this, you need to make a precise analysis of your flow to identify possible optimizations.

The most common items to be subtracted are as follows:

  • costs relating to post-import work,
  • transport and related costs after introduction of the goods into the territory,
  • duties and taxes related to the importation or sale of the goods,
  • reproduction rights,
  • commissions on purchases,
  • interest for deferred payment.

However, it is important to note that you may also need to add items to your transaction value to justify the value for duty of your product. This is particularly the case when the importer has paid separately for insurance and transportation costs related to the transaction.

Similarly, in the context of transactions between companies in the same group, the transaction value may be called into question whenever it is influenced by the relationship of dependence between the parties, i.e. when it does not reflect a market value.

As you can see, this is a very specific subject for each feed. You have to think about setting its customs value each time, and not neglect the possible optimisations that can represent significant financial gains.

The Tariff Ranking

A little history before we get into the subject.
The World Customs Organization has a Harmonized System (HS). It is a globally applicable goods description and coding system consisting of 6 digits (applicable in 195 countries). Then each economic zone adds specific codes to it specifying the rules applicable to their zone.
For example the European Union recognizes 6 digits (HS) + 2 digits (NC) + 2 digits (TARIC)*.

Why are you interested in it?

Tariff classification allows companies to know a lot about their obligations when entering an economic zone. It provides all the following information associated with your product:

  • rates of duty,
  • commercial policy measures (such as tariff suspensions, anti-dumping duties, quotas),
  • safety standards,
  • sanitary, phytosanitary or other formalities,
  • prohibitions or embargoes,
  • impacts related to the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP),
  • domestic taxation.

In short, if your product's tariff classification is correctly identified, you will be able to know all the implications of your product when entering an economic zone. It is important to know your duties to avoid problems with the customs authorities.

For your information, a bad tariff classification of your product could be sanctioned. Sanctions depend on a precise analysis of the situation where the customs authorities will ask questions about intentionality, in particular to characterize a criminal offence. Beyond that, the sanctions can be heavy of consequences taking into account the possible additional duties and the penalties and interests to be paid.

How do you determine the correct tariff classification for your products?

The tariff classification of your product does not happen by chance, far from it.

Indeed, it has to be assessed on the basis of the components, the end use and the criteria set out in the classification rules of the World Customs Organisation. The tariff classification of products changes regularly, so it is necessary to keep a regulatory watch on your products in order to adapt your processes accordingly.

One important point needs to be clarified. Tariff classification can also be a vector of competitiveness. Indeed, you can ask under eligibility criteria of your products to change their tariff classification, and thus potentially benefit from less severe constraints or lower customs duties.

To determine the tariff classification of your goods, it is therefore preferable to use technical expertise to be certain of its conformity, but also to benefit from the most favourable tariff heading in each jurisdiction.

The customs trick would be to request Tariff Information.
Binding (RTC) to secure your classifications (for a period of 3 years in EU). But this is another specific topic that will be developed under another heading.

Conclusion

As you have seen, taking an interest in the 3 pillars of customs for an international trade operator allows you to protect yourself from the main risks linked to the passage of customs, but also to identify customs as a tool for commercial competitiveness and not as an onerous constraint.

To go further on the analysis and optimization of your flows, turn to our partner Compliancy :


Zoom on our partner Compliancy

With its community of independent experts, Compliancy assists companies in securing and optimising their international flows of goods. It favours responsiveness and offers a rapid response to your needs with experts specialising in your operational issues by sector of activity. Read more >

Focus sur les 3 piliers de la Douane : Origine, Valeur et Classement.

Le but de cet article est de vous donner les outils pour vous assurer de la conformité et commencer à optimiser vos flux à l’international, en vulgarisant le plus possible le vocabulaire douanier parfois technique et complexe.
Pour un entrepreneur ou un manager gérant des flux de commerce international, l’enjeu de la gestion douanière revient à éviter les retards, blocages et risques financiers d’un côté, et à minimiser les droits de douanes exigibles de l’autre.
Nous n’avons pas besoin d’être expert du métier pour comprendre les notions les plus importantes et ainsi améliorer notre maîtrise de nos transactions à l’international.
Pour un praticien de la douane, un flux c’est 3 principaux piliers : L’Origine, La Valeur et le Classement.
Si vous faites attention à ces trois notions sur vos flux Import et Export, alors vous aurez fait un pas que beaucoup n’ont pas (encore) franchi.

L’Origine

Pourquoi s’y intéresser ?

L’Origine permet de savoir d’où vient économiquement la marchandise et ainsi de connaître une partie des règles applicables à son transport international.
Connaître le pays d’origine de votre produit va principalement vous permettre de manière concrète :

  • d’identifier certaines obligations auxquelles vous êtes soumis (ex: droit anti-dumping en fonction de l’origine – et du classement discuté plus loin – de vos matières premières),
  • d’identifier les sanctions liées à l’origine de vos matières premières (ex: la Crimée est sous embargo UE, votre produit sera donc bloqué en douane avec risque pénal potentiel),
  • d’identifier le caractère éventuellement préférentiel de votre origine et ainsi de réduire voire d’éliminer vos droits de douanes (Ex: l’Ukraine et l’UE ont un accord de libre-échange en vigueur).

De manière concrète les principaux risques que vous encourez si vous ne maîtrisez pas l’origine de vos produits sont les suivants :

  • redressements et pénalités a posteriori de la part des autorités douanières,
  • éventuel délit douanier pouvant entraîner la confiscation des marchandises ainsi qu’une amende forfaitaire,
  • multiplication des contrôles,
  • blocage de vos produits en douane.

Comment faire pour l’identifier ?

La question qui vient après avoir compris qu’il fallait s’y intéresser est “comment faire ?”.
Cela devient un petit peu plus compliqué mais pas insurmontable.

La première chose à savoir est qu’il ne faut pas confondre provenance et origine. L’origine douanière est la nationalité économique de votre produit, la provenance est l’origine géographique de votre produit sur un flux donné.

La deuxième chose importante à savoir est qu’il est important de distinguer l’origine préférentielle et l’origine non préférentielle :

  • L’origine préférentielle permet d’obtenir un avantage tarifaire.
  • L’origine non préférentielle (ou «de droit commun ») permet de déterminer le régime tarifaire commun ainsi que l’ensemble des autres réglementations applicables au produit relativement à son origine (droits antidumping, par exemple).

Un produit a toujours une origine non préférentielle pour l’ensemble des réglementations douanières et peut en parallèle, s’il existe un accord de libre échange ou une préférence unilatérale entre le pays d’origine et le pays de destination, avoir une origine préférentielle qui va lui permettre de bénéficier d’une réduction de droit de douane.

Enfin, la troisième chose à savoir est la distinction entre :

  • les produits « entièrement obtenus »,
  • les produits ayant subi une « dernière transformation substantielle ».

C’est grâce à ces deux notions que vous pourrez identifier correctement votre origine. Explication :
Les produits « entièrement obtenus » sont des produits à l’état naturel ou qui ne connaissent aucune transformation dans un autre pays.

Un exemple parlant serait celui d’une banane récoltée dans un Pays A et qui serait directement envoyée par bateau dans un Pays B pour être vendue en supermarché à l’unité.
La banane à l’état naturel est le produit : l’origine est donc le Pays A. Il en irait de même si la banane avait été produite puis tranchées en lamelles, séchée et enfin packagée dans le pays A : la banane séchée (produit fini) aurait pour origine le pays A.

Lorsque plusieurs pays sont impliqués dans le processus de fabrication, c’est la notion de « dernière transformation substantielle » qui détermine l’origine et pour cela il est nécessaire de donner une explication plus détaillée.

Il y a plusieurs manières de déterminer une transformation substantielle :

  • le changement de classement tarifaire de votre produit,
  • la valeur de la transformation dépasse 50% de la valeur du produit fini.

La Valeur

Voilà un sujet clé sur le plan financier. En effet, la plupart des droits de douanes et la TVA à l’import représentent un pourcentage de la valeur en douane des biens déclarés.

Pourquoi s’y intéresser ?

La valeur en douane est le montant que vous allez communiquer aux autorités douanières dans le cadre de vos importations et exportations. Il y a 3 raisons principales pour s’y intéresser :

  1. Une mauvaise valeur en douane peut vous exposer à des redressements et pénalités a posteriori de la part des autorités douanières, et peut constituer un délit douanier entraînant la confiscation des marchandises ainsi qu’une amende forfaitaire.
  2. Une mauvaise valeur en douanes impacte la confiance que les autorités douanières
    ont en votre entreprise et peut entraîner une multiplication des contrôles sur vos
    opérations (retards…).
  3. Une valeur en douane peut être optimisée par retranchement d’éléments qui peuvent
    baisser le montant et ainsi les droits de douanes payés.

Il faut distinguer la valeur en douane à l’importation à celle de l’exportation. Les deux sont importantes pour les autorités douanières et il faut s’intéresser aux deux.

Comment faire pour déclarer une valeur fiable ?

Généralement, la valeur en douane est basée sur la valeur transactionnelle du bien, c’est à dire le prix facturé par un fournisseur à son client importateur. C’est ce qui se passe de manière générale quand il y a une vente internationale.

Dans le cas ou il n’y a pas de vente (e.g. transfert de stock ou encore lorsque la vente n’a pas eu lieu à l’export), vous pouvez compter sur d’autres méthodes de calcul permettant de justifier de la valeur en douane. L’idée générale est que la valeur déclarée doit inclure tous les coûts liés à la production, au transport et à l’assurance des biens jusqu’à la frontière.

La valeur en douane de vos marchandises peut être ajustée car votre valeur transactionnelle peut contenir des éléments que vous pouvez retrancher légalement. Pour cela il faut faire une analyse précise de votre flux pour identifier les optimisations possibles.

Les éléments les plus courant à retrancher sont les suivants :

  • frais relatifs à des travaux postérieurs à l’importation,
  • frais de transport et frais connexes après introduction des marchandises sur le territoire,
  • droits et taxes liés à l’importation ou à la vente des marchandises,
  • droits de reproduction,
  • commissions à l’achat,
  • intérêts pour paiement différé.

En revanche, il est important de préciser que vous devrez aussi parfois ajouter des éléments à votre valeur transactionnelle pour justifier la valeur en douane de votre produit. C’est notamment le cas lorsque l’importateur a payé séparément les frais d’assurance et de transport liés à la transaction.

De même, dans le cadre de transactions entre entreprises du même groupe, la valeur transactionnelle pourra être remise en cause chaque fois qu’elle est influencée par la relation de dépendance existant entre les parties, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’elle ne reflète pas une valeur de marché.

Vous l’avez compris, il s’agit d’un sujet très spécifique à chaque flux. Il faut penser à la fixation de sa valeur en douane à chaque fois, et ne pas négliger les optimisations possibles qui peuvent représenter des gains financiers importants.

Le Classement Tarifaire

Un peu d’histoire avant de rentrer dans le sujet.
L’Organisation Mondiale des Douanes possède un Système Harmonisé (SH). Il s’agit d’un système de désignation et de codification des marchandises applicable au niveau mondial qui comprend 6 chiffres (applicable dans 195 pays). Ensuite chaque zone économique y ajoute des codes spécifiques précisant les règles applicables à leur zone.
Par exemple l’Union Européenne reconnaît les 6 chiffres (SH) + 2 chiffres (NC) + 2 chiffres (TARIC)*.

Pourquoi s’y intéresser ?

Le classement tarifaire permet aux entreprises de connaître beaucoup de choses sur leurs obligations à l’entrée d’une zone économique. Il permet de connaître toutes les informations suivantes associées à votre produit :

  • les taux de droits de douane,
  • les mesures de politique commerciale (telles que les suspensions tarifaires, les droits antidumping, les contingents),
  • les normes de sécurité,
  • les formalités sanitaires ou phytosanitaires ou d’autre nature,
  • les mesures de prohibitions ou d’embargos,
  • les impacts liés à politique agricole commune (PAC),
  • la fiscalité intérieure.

En somme, si votre le classement tarifaire de votre produit est correctement identifié, vous pourrez alors connaître toutes les implications de votre produit à l’entrée d’une zone économique. C’est important de connaître ses devoirs pour éviter les problèmes avec les autorités douanières.

Pour information, un mauvais classement tarifaire de votre produit pourra être sanctionné. Les sanctions dépendent d’une analyse précise de la situation où les autorités douanières se poseront des questions sur l’intentionnalité notamment pour caractériser une infraction pénale. Au-delà les sanctions peuvent être lourdes de conséquences compte tenu des droits supplémentaires éventuels et des pénalités et intérêts à payer.

Comment déterminer le bon classement tarifaire pour vos produits ?

Le classement tarifaire de votre produit ne se fait pas par hasard, loin de là.

En effet, il doit faire l’objet d’une évaluation basée sur les composants, l’utilisation finale et les critères repris dans les règles de classement de l’organisation mondiale des douanes. Le classement tarifaire des produits changent régulièrement, il est donc nécessaire de rester en veille réglementaire sur vos produits pour adapter vos processus en fonction.

Un point important est à préciser. Le classement tarifaire peut être aussi vecteur de compétitivité. En effet, vous pouvez demander sous critères d’éligibilité de vos produits à changer de classement tarifaire, et ainsi potentiellement bénéficier de contraintes moins sévères ou de droits de douane moins élevés.

Pour déterminer le classement tarifaire de vos marchandises, il est donc préférable d’avoir recours à une expertise technique afin d’être certain de sa conformité, mais aussi pour bénéficier de la position tarifaire la plus favorable dans chaque juridiction.

L’astuce douanière serait de procéder à une demande de Renseignement Tarifaire
Contraignant (RTC) afin de sécuriser vos classifications (pour une durée de 3 ans en UE). Mais c’est un autre sujet spécifique qui sera développé dans le cadre d’une autre rubrique.

Conclusion

Comme vous avez pu le constater, s’intéresser aux 3 piliers de la douane pour un opérateur du commerce international permet de se prémunir des principaux risques liés au passage de la douane, mais aussi d’identifier la douane comme un outil de compétitivité commerciale et non comme une contrainte onéreuse.

Pour aller plus loin sur l’analyse et l’optimisation de vos flux, tournez-vous vers notre partenaire Compliancy :


Zoom sur notre partenaire Compliancy

Forte de sa communauté d’experts indépendants, Compliancy accompagne les entreprises dans la sécurisation et l’optimisation de leurs flux internationaux de marchandises. Elle privilégie la réactivité et propose une prise en charge rapide de votre besoin avec des experts spécialistes de vos problématiques opérationnelles par secteur d’activité. En savoir plus >